Telugu Colors Send SMS messages without a phone - Free trial!
spacer Home spacer Tollywood spacer Movies spacer Paper Cuttimgs spacer Reel Buzz! spacer Gallery spacer Reviews
Tollywood » Directors » K. Viswanath
Click on the date to view your Favourite actor/actress news cuttings from various news papers / Magazines.
K. ViswanathClick Here to View K. Viswanath Paper Clippings
K. Viswanath
K. Viswanath

Kasinadhuni Viswanath or K. Viswanath (Telugu: కాశినాథుని విశ్వనాథ్‌, (b. 19 February 1930),was born to Sri Kasinadhuni Subrahmanyam and Sri Kasinadhuni Saraswatamma. He hails from Peddapulivarru, near Tenali in Andhra Pradesh. He is an acclaimed Telugu film director and actor whose contributions have been significant to Indian films through the Telugu film industry. He has directed films like Swathi Muthyam which was India's official entry to the Oscars for the year 1986; the only Telugu film to achieve this till date. Most of his films have attained a classic status and are often used as pointers to Telugu film industry. His films are termed to be masterclass and touch the audience hearts in a subtle manner. He has also directed a Hindi movie with Madhuri Dixit playing a dual role called Sangeet. It was a critically well acclaimed film which was released in 1992. His Malayalam film, Sapthapathy was also critically acclaimed.

Viswanath began his career as a technician in a studio at Chennai and later assisted Mr. Adurthi Subba Rao in direction. He also worked as an assistant to director Ramnoth. He also wished to work as an assistant to K. Balachander and Bapu. He debuted as a director with Aatma Gowravam, which starred Akkineni Nageswara Rao. However, his full prowess in film-making flowered with a subsequent film called Siri Siri Muvva.
His films used to tackle the relevance and influence of Indian music/culture/art in the modern era. Films in this mould include Sankarabharanam ('Lord Shankara (shiva)'s Ornament'). He made a series of such classical oriented movies all showcasing the bliss in Indian art forms. The list includes Saagara Sangamam ('The place where river merges into Sea/Ocean. As per Hindu beliefs, this is supposed to be a sacred place'), Sruthi Layalu, Sirivennela ('Golden Moonlight'), Swarnakamalam ('Golden Lotus'), and Swathi Kiranam ('A Ray of Talent').
Vishwanath also made significant contributions on the social front with films like Saptapadi ('The seven Steps', signifying the sanctity of the Hindu marriage system), Swathi Muthyam ('Pure Pearl'), Swayam Krushi ("Attitude Towards Work"  conveying the message that dilligence and dedication is indispensable in achieving success), Subhodayam ('Good Morning'), Subhalekha ('Wedding Invitation'  a critique of the dowry system), Aapadhbhaandhavudu ('Savior'), and Subha Sankalpam ('Good Will').
Swathi Muthyam was India's official entry to the Oscars in 1986. Viswanath was awarded the Padma Shri by the Government of India for his contributions to Indian film.
His films mirror the erosion of cherished values of Indian culture yet he remains critical of those morals that make one stand against his fellow human. For example, in his movie Saptapadi, Vishwanath brilliantly addresses certain loopholes in an inadmissible cultural system like intercaste marriage. A temple chief-priest gets his daughter’s daughter married to his son’s son – unaware that she is musically fused to a flutist who is a Dalit (one of a lower caste, but of a higher humanness.) Later, as the priest sees the marriage falling apart, he comes to know the girl’s erstwhile bonding. It takes the priest intense introspection to realize how nasty it is to look down upon a fellow human because of caste. He could now anchor his judgment in the “content of character†rather than caste. Across numerous other films, Vishwanath has re-echoed similar social concerns that still resonate in the audiences’ minds.
The music for his films was composed by K. V. Mahadevan and Ilaiyaraaja. Viswanath has also worked with artists like Hariprasad Chaurasia, Kelucharan Mohapatra and Sharon Lowen for some of his films.
Viswanath also ventured into mainstream acting in Telugu movies such as Pandurangadu(stg*Balakrishna,Sneha, Tagore(Stg*Chiranjeevi), Aadavari Maatalaku Ardhaale Verule(stg*Venkatesh,Trisha Krishnan)and Tamil films like Kuruthi Punal(stg*Kamal Haasan,Arjun), Kakkai Chiraginile(stg*Parthiban), Mugavari(stg*Ajith), Bhagavathy(stg*Vijay), Pudiya Geethai(stg*Vijay) and Yaradi Nee Mohini(stg*Dhanush).
He is currently playing the lead in SIVA NARAYANA TEERTHAM in TTD's Sri Venkateswara Bhakthi Channel(SVBC).

Aatma Gouravam (1965)
Private Master (1967)
Sudigundalu (1967)
Kalisochchina Adrushtam (1968)
Undamma Bottu Pedata (1968)
Nindu Hridayalu (1969)
Sabhash Satyam (1969)
Chelleli Kapuram (1971)
Nindu Dampatulu (1971)
Chinnanaati Snehithulu (1971)
Kalam Marindi (1972)
Neramu Siksha (1973)
Sharada (1973)
O Seeta Katha (1974)
Amma Manasu (1974)
Chinna Nati Kalalu (1975)
Jeevana Jyoti (1975)
Prema Bhandam (1976)
Mangalyaniki Maromudi (1976)
Jeevita Nouka (1977)
Chilanka (1977)
Kaalanthakulu (1978)
Siri Siri Muvva (1978)
Seetamalakshmi (1978)
Sankarabharanam (1979)
Sargam (1979)
President Peramma (1979)
Alludu Pattina Bharatam (1980)
Saptapadi (1980)
Subhodayam (1980)
Subhalekha (1982)
Kaamchor (1982)
Shubh Kaamna (1983)
Saagara Sangamam (1983)
Janani Janmabhoomi (1984)
Jag Utha Insan (1985)
Swathi Muthyam (1985)
Sura Sangam (1985)
Sanjog (1985)
Siri vennela (1986)
Srutilayalu (1987)
Swayamkrushi (1987)
Swarna Kamalam (1988)
Sangeeta Sangamam (1988)
Eshwar (1989)
Suthradharulu (1990)
Aapathbandhavudu (1992)
Sangeet (1992)
Swathi Kiranam (1992)
Dhanwaan (1993)
Subha Sankalpam (1995)
Chinnabbayi (1997)
Swarabhishekam (2004)
Sumaduram(2010)- starring Allari Naresh and Manjari.

National Film Awards
1980-National Film Award for Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment -Sankarabharanam
1982-Nargis Dutt Award for Best Feature Film on National Integration-Saptapadi
1984-National Film Award for Best Feature Film in Telugu-Sagara Sangamam
1986-National Film Award for Best Feature Film in Telugu-Swathi Muthyam
1988-National Film Award for Best Feature Film in Telugu-Sruthi Layalu
2004-National Film Award for Best Feature Film in Telugu-Swarabhishekam
Raghupathi Venkaiah Award-1992
Padmashri Award.

» Kodandarami Reddy » K B Thilak » K Babu Rao » K Bapayya
» K Hemandhara Rao » K Sadhasiva Rao » K Varaprasad Rao » KamalaKara Kameswara Rao
» Katta Subba Rao » Kommineni Seshagiri Rao » Kotayya Pratyagatma » Kranthi Kumar
» K S Nageswara Rao » Krishnan » K S Prakash Rao » K S Rami reddy
» K S R Das » K Vijay Bhaskar » Krishna vamshi » K Raghavendra Rao
» Karunakaran » Kodi Rama krishna » K. Vijaya Bhaskar » K. Viswanath

301 Moved Permanently

Moved Permanently

The document has moved here.

© 2009 - 2023 Telugu Colours.
E-Mail : | About Us | Terms & Conditons | Privacy | Contact Us | Feedback | WebERP4 | CloudERP4
Get connected with us : Follow Us On Twitter Facebook
Powered by Website Design, Development, Maintenance & Powered by BitraNet Pvt. Ltd.,